Henry Yu

Henry Yu is currently the managing Director/Regional Manager-Asia of Global Financial Institutions at Fifth Third Bank.

In addition to growing its SE retail and commercial business, Henry is also heavily involved in the bank’s China Strategy. His China coverage and experiences dated back some 23 years ago. Henry’s 2008-2010 affiliation with Standard Chartered Bank China exposed him to government relations, local corporate and financial institutions, branch expansion and investment banking.

Related China Experience
Related China Experience
  • Traveled with states of Michigan (Detroit Economic Growth Corporation), Ohio and Illinois to China to lure FDI in late 1980s/early 1990s
  • Participated in syndicated loans to Chinese SOEs (COFCO, COSCO, Sinochem, CITIC, China Machinery Import Export Corp) in early 1990s
  • Assisted in establishing Chicago Chapter of the US China Chamber of Commerce under the leadership of Prescott Bush
  • Active involvement in travels to China assisting Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce, GDED, etc since 2005
  • Advisor to Nanjing, Hangzhou and Guangzhou, and 3-year Advisor to China’s Federation of Overseas Chinese
  • Numerous speaking engagements on China/USA business to Jinan University, Sichuan University Suzhou Institute, Hangzhou, Wuhan, Nanchang, Nanjing, Guangzhou; and universities in Georgia-KSU, Mercer, GSU, GaTech, GPC, etc
  • Only and first foreign banker in 2009/2010 traveling with China’s Central Bank (PBOC and Shanghai Financial Office) on road shows in Asia and Europe to promote RMB commercialization and internationalization (Henry was Standard Chartered Bank China’s RMB Champion on this space)
  • One of handful of people involved in planning for Atlanta Mayor Reed’s March 2012 trip to China

Our Leadership Team

Lani Wong
Dr Christina Liao
Leona Hu
VP & Treasurer
Carol Ng
Board of Directors

Past Presidents

Past Presidents

Ric Hubler (2015-18)
Zhenhua “Steven” Gu (2014-15)
Hong Wills (2012-14)
Zhenhua “Steven” Gu (2010-12)
Christina Liao (2009-10)
Patrick Ko (2008-09)
Andy Wong (2007-08)
Henry Yu (2006-07)
Wei Hu (2005-06)
Henry Yu (2004-05)
Henry Yu (2003-04)
Nancy Liu (2002-03)
Lani Wong (2001-02)
Ben Bao (2000-01)
Victor Eng (1999-2000)
Lani Wong (1998-99)

Angela Chan (1997-98)
Lani Wong (1996-97)
Victor Eng (1995-96)
Lily D’Angelo (1994-95)
Anita Eng (1993-94)
Angela Chan (1991-92)
Jeannie Lin (1989-90)
Al Wong (1987-88)
Lani Wong (1986-87)
Lee Wan (1985-86)
James Wu (1984-85)
Lani Wong (1982-84)
Winston Liu (1981-82)
Lee Wan (1980-81)
Chris Yao (1979-80)

Editor in Chief

Leona Hu

Immediate Past President

Ric Hubler


Zheng Li
Jung Mar
Henry Yu